About Us Advisory on travel to Greece

The information on travelling to Greece (relaxation of coronavirus-related restrictions) as of July 1, 2020 is a follows:


  1. i) The entry of all permanent residents of EU member states are allowed. This also includes permanent residents of the Schengen-related countries (Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Romania, Switzerland) as well as Ireland and the United Kingdom. The citizens of following 14 non-EU countries are also allowed to entry in Greece:

Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

  1. ii)   All non-EU residents may enter if they have a residence permit for Greece.

iii)  The ban on non-European citizens entering the country is also being extended. Every two weeks, Greece will renew the list of countries whose permanent residents will be allowed entry, based on EU guidelines.

  1. iv)  The following exemptions apply to the temporary entry bans of non-European countries: Members of European citizens' families, citizens of Schengen countries,   passengers traveling for essential & essential travel, health personnel, specialized scientific staff necessary for the functioning of the government;  government, diplomatic Mission,  military,  humanitarian personnel,   students,  passengers in transit,  aircraft crews and non-European citizens who have obtained a permit for their travel from  Greek  Missions by presenting the necessary documents.


  1. i)  As of July 1, international flights are allowed at any airport in Greece. (Initially, they could only land at the Athens and Thessaloniki International Airports.)
  2. ii)  Direct flights from Sweden and the United Kingdom are banned until July 15.

 The Greek Government spokesman has issued the following outline on relaxation of coronavirus-related restrictions as of July 1: 


  1. i) At borders with Bulgaria, entry is allowed to visitors only at the border station of Promachonas. The rest will be open to people travelling for exceptional reasons.
    ii)At borders with Albania, North Macedonia and Turkey, entry is allowed only for exceptional reasons.


  1. i) The Patras and Igoumenitsa entry ports are open.


  1. i) All travellers to Greece are obliged to have filled out the online Passenger Locator Form(PLF) (https://travel.gov.gr/#/)   48 hours before departure.
  2. ii)Travellers will be subjected to random sampling (Covid-19 test) during their entrance to the country, and must follow the directives of the General Secretariat for Civil Protection. The protocols are based on an analysis and evaluation of epidemiological data prepared by Greek doctors and engineers.